top of page

Rave Review: "Ace of Spades" by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé

Quick Summary

Type: Novel

Genre: LGBTQIA+, thriller

Back Cover: "Welcome to Niveus Private Academy, where money paves the hallways, and the students are never less than perfect. Until now. Because anonymous texter, Aces, is bringing two students' dark secrets to light.

Talented musician Devon buries himself in rehearsals, but he can't escape the spotlight when his private photos go public. Head girl Chiamaka isn't afraid to get what she wants, but soon everyone will know the price she has paid for power.

Someone is out to get them both. Someone who holds all the aces. And they're planning much more than a high-school game..."

Read Time: 4 days

Rating: 5 stars


Review

I found this book because I was looking for a gift for my cousin. Since he lives in Texas, I usually try to get him something that he isn't likely to find down there and this - a book that features two LGBTQIA+ characters and tackles serious issues of racism - fit the bill. Obviously, I read the back cover before I sent him the book, and that back cover (plus the appealing front cover) stayed with me until I caved (less than a week later) and looked for the book at the library. Thank God, there wasn't a wait for it.


I will say that the book started off slowly. For the first few chapters, it felt a lot more like the usual teenage drama (with a dash of fear of being found out as gay). There was a point, however, when that changed. I can't really point to a specific time - maybe it was when the chemistry supplies were "stolen" and the theft blamed on Chiamaka - where I realized this was way more serious than teenage drama. On top of that, while there were some "red herrings", it was obvious that the only people being targeted were the black kids, which added another layer to the already-present tension in the book.


There were a lot of really uncomfortable things to deal with throughout this novel. Every time I had some hope that someone at that awful school could be an ally, it would be ripped away from me. Seriously, it happened so many times.


One of the big reveals was kind of obvious from fairly early on (see: who Belle really is), but the accompanying big reveal surprised me (although it makes sense in hindsight). Jamie's betrayal of Chi definitely hurt a lot as well, although I can't tell if it hurt more than Belle's betrayal. Let's just say, betrayal plays a central role in this book.


The end was especially stressful. I was genuinely shaking, yelling (in my head, I'm not a weirdo) for them not to go through with their plan because it was a trap. I was relieved that they got away in the end, although the way they get away does necessitate a little more suspense of disbelief than preceding events. I will say that there was a satisfying feeling of schadenfreude when the news announced the deaths of certain students at the end.


The epilogue also necessitates a little extra suspense of disbelief, but I enjoyed it in a cathartic way. There was just enough hope, and just enough implied revenge, to make me happy.


Loved this book, would recommend it to pretty much anyone.

Comments


Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page